Brief History

The Agricultural Biotechnology Research Center (ABRC) of Academia Sinica, formerly known as the Preparatory Office of the Institute of BioAgricultural Sciences (IBS), was founded in January 1998 by a devoted effect of Academician/Dr. Ray Wu and Ex- President/Dr. Yuan-Tse Lee. Dr. Ning-Sun Yang was appointed as the founding director. IBS was officially transformed and renamed as ABRC in 2006. Dr. Na-Shang Lin was appointed as the interim director. Starting January 2008, Dr. Ming-Che Shih has served as the current director, with Drs. Shu-Mei Liang and Lie-Fen Shyur as associate directors. Drs. Lie-Fen Shyur and Tzyy-Jen Chiou started to serve as associate directors in 2014. Starting from January 2019, Dr. Kuo-Chen Yeh has served as the Director. Later, Drs. Hsin-Hung Yeh and Yu-Liang Yang started to serve as vice directors since January 2019. The Center currently has a total of twenty three principal investigators and five research specialists, along with a number of supporting staffs working either at the Nankang main campus of the Academy or at the Biotechnology Center in Tainan City. The ABRC was moved into the new Agricultural Technology Building in December 2009, as we consolidate our research activities and help to advance the development of agricultural biotechnology in Taiwan.